Holidays vs Photos

A few months ago I had the pleasure of going on holiday to the Lake District, arguably one of the most beautiful places in England. Whilst there a familiar vexation presented itself: Balancing the pressure to take beautiful photos (and do the picturesque landscape justice) with actually being on holiday and relaxing. Life’s stressful enough, isn’t it?

Even though part of being on holiday is about relaxing and enjoying photography, having fun documenting where we go, what we eat, what animals we see… I sometimes find wondering how to fit in getting to the right location (or the potential of one) for the right time of day at odds with that ‘holiday’ frame of mind. The pressure to get great photos is there because we don’t get to visit these places very often and sometimes we aren’t sure if we’ll ever be able to return.

That said, I do the best I can with photography and always enjoy my holidays regardless. I’m sure this problem will crop up in future and I’ll be compelled to write about it again, but in the mean time if you have any tips on getting around it, let me know in the comments!

Coniston Water

2 responses to “Holidays vs Photos

  1. I have the same dilemma. A suggestion would be to schedule the time each day between photography and relaxing. However, don’t forget to take your camera even while relaxing in case the right image opportunity arises.

  2. Welcome to the world of WordPress, I trust you’ll be happy here.

    I think having the right partner with you on holiday helps (or go alone) because from time to time the sense of guilt whilst looking at life through a lens (hello, Robbie) can often make you (me) rush shots I’d otherwise spend time over.

    I completely agree with the Lakes being one of the most (if not THE most) beautiful places in England. Love it.

Leave a Reply

