Visit to St Paul’s Cathedral

Earlier this year I was lucky enough to visit St Paul’s Cathedral in London… with my camera! Photography is usually forbidden there but during the course of the summer they held 3 ‘photography allowed’ days.

As I work fairly close by, I took a morning off and went along. I had never been inside the cathedral before, although I am quite used to the majestic sight of the exterior. I had heard it was a very special place, incredibly ornate and beautiful; however I found the interior quite breathtaking. The detail and scale was truly something.

I got there quite close to opening time, and it was relatively quiet (for a tourist attraction in London). As the hours went on it got busier but nothing that stopped me seeing things or getting pushed around.

I took an 11-16mm wide angle lens and a 28-300mm. I hoped this would allow me to capture the grandness of the cathedral and some of the detail.

I climbed to the very top, which is not for the feint-hearted. It’s 257 steps up to the Whispering Gallery. 376 steps (in total) take you to the Stone Gallery. Then another 166 steps (making 528 in total) enable you to reach the Golden Gallery, 85 metres from the cathedral floor. Some of the staircases are of the very narrow, wrought iron spiral type, so I wouldn’t recommend it if you are wary of heights. However, if you do make it up there, the views are spectacular.

The crypt is an interesting visit too. A lot of it is in appropriately sombre low light, as it is the final resting place of many important historical figures. There’s also a café (away from the tombs!) which is open to the public. I may have partaken of a coffee 🙂

Here are a few of my favourite shots from that day:

stPaulsSummer_960px-1stPaulsSummer_960px-2stPaulsSummer_960px-3stPaulsSummer_960px-4stPaulsSummer_960px-5stPaulsSummer_960px-6stPaulsSummer_960px-7stPaulsSummer_960px-8stPaulsSummer_960px-9stPaulsSummer_960px-10stPaulsSummer_960px-11stPaulsSummer_960px-12stPaulsSummer_960px-13stPaulsSummer_960px-14

One response to “Visit to St Paul’s Cathedral

Leave a Reply

