That was the year that was 2016

Time to reflect on another year gone by! Unfortunately for me, I felt my day job dominate life too much in 2016, so it’s been great to look back and have a think about other stuff that happened.

  • I finally joined 500px. Something I had been meaning to do for a long time but didn’t feel worthy of. I haven’t posted many shots there yet. There is such a good standard of photography to stand up with! It’s where I go to research the sort of photographs  I want to take.
  • I took part in Blogging U’s Photo 101 course for the second year running. I had a blast the first time around and enjoyed the push to post something every day, so I thought why not go again? Wrap-up post here.
  • I participated in an awesome street photography workshop. Read about that here.
  • I finished consolidating my photo library (originally posted about it during the process here). Although it took ages, completing it was satisfying and makes it much easier to find pictures.
  • Our main holiday was in Snowdonia, Wales. Beautiful surroundings and a wonderful break. You can see an Adobe Spark Page of that trip here.
  • Stuff happened in politics. I don’t like to get political (as it can be so divisive) but I greatly fear the negative economic and social ramifications of these events.
  • I read 27 books. My favourite fiction was Mr Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore, by Robin Sloan. The best non-fiction for me was Dear Leader by Jang Jin-sung, a gripping and fascinating account written by an ex-employee of  North Korea’s propaganda machine. My photography-related highlight was Photography Q&A by Zack Arias, chock-full of indispensable advice.
  • My film of 2016? Rogue One: A Star Wars Story. Just awesome.
  • The commute to my job in London was heavily blighted by train strikes. Which has continued into the new year! (maybe I should do a photo essay!)
  • I shot (not counting the ones I didn’t keep) 3,202 frames. More than last year, again; and more than I thought.
  • In spite of my improved fitness, I finished the year quite under the weather having succumbed to a nasty coughing virus.
  • New and not so new Christmas traditions endured (salted caramel and fudge pavlova and cinnamon buns respectively). Also, I made Hollandaise sauce for the first time!

To finish, here are some shots that sum up the year. In choosing these, I wasn’t necessarily looking for technically good photos, but those that reveal the visual history of what happened.

Thanks for reading! I hope you had a good 2016. Here’s to more fun photographic adventures in 2017.

2016wrap_960px-1

Snow day in January

2016wrap_960px-2

Great sunsets from the office in London

2016wrap_960px-3

Lunchtime walks with the Fuji

2016wrap_960px-4

Coffee. Plenty of it.

2016wrap_960px-6

Street photography workshop

2016wrap_960px-7

Capturing shots for Photo101 on the way to the office

2016wrap_960px-8

Trip to Dungeness

2016wrap_960px-9

Trying to capture the Milky Way from the back garden

2016wrap_960px-10

The party we had for my parents-in-laws’ 50th Wedding Anniversary

2016wrap_960px-11

Coffee and sketching in the garden

2016wrap_960px-12

Coffee and sketching in the Tate Modern

2016wrap_960px-13

Seeing new things on one of our regular walks near home

2016wrap_960px-14

Climbing Snowdon

2016wrap_960px-15

Photowalking in Soho

2016wrap_960px-17

Awesome pink sky at Borough on my way to London Bridge

2016wrap_960px-18

The long shadows of winter sun

2016wrap_960px-19

Plenty of walks with my favourite person

2016wrap_960px-20

Christmas pavlova!

2016wrap_960px-21

Christmas Day walk

2 responses to “That was the year that was 2016

  1. What a great idea, Emma! Looks like you were very active in 2016. My highlight of your highlights are the cinnamon buns. But… I changed my way of eating and lost 18 kg in 4 months. And these buns are no longer on my list. 😦 You are a very talented photographer. So rock 500px. I am a big fan of your blog and posts here in WordPress. So all the best for 2017 and hopefully many posts with awesome images here in your blog. Smiles. Reinhold

    • Thanks so much, Reinhold for the very kind and encouraging comments! I haven’t updated 500px in a while, I need to remedy that 🙂 Likewise all the best for 2017 to you, too. I always enjoy your posts and wonderful photography.

Leave a Reply

