Sheffield Park, October 2023

It had been a very soggy October for us, and this day was looking to be no exception. I was keen to see the autumn colour this year, though. Having booked my parking space (a new rule this year) and with normal, rather than torrential, rain predicted, I grabbed my camera and headed out.

Thanks to the rain and my having arrived shortly after opening, it was nice and quiet – despite it being the tail end of half-term school holidays.

Ten Foot Pond, from Garden Bridge
Middle Lake

Due to the cloud cover, my trusty olde Nikon struggled a bit with the low light. I upped the ISO a little and dialled in negative exposure compensation. As a consequence I got some moody, if a bit grainy, shots. I aimed for mostly detail shots with the Nikon and shot some iPhone ones as backup (I definitely prefer the clarity of those).

I remember this beautiful tree on Middle Lake from last year!

The rain wasn’t so bad in the end, just a couple of very light showers and a teeny bit of drizzle – so a pleasant walk was had. Of course I finished up with a coffee in the lovely café!

First two images shot on iPhone 12, all others on Nikon D90 with 28-300mm Tamron lens. Processed in Lightroom Classic. Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment